Wishes in the Air

Image

“I always wondered what was beyond the wind
and when it blew south,
I spent minutes pondering its journey
and why it would never take me with it…

still I followed the bird to his home in the
branch of a rusty oak,
letting my heart be buried under its wings…

for there was a time when I sank into the city and
inhaled the fumes of a sooner than later death
and thought it was my place of rest,
but I came to realise that wherever I was
I’d still be blowing dandelions in my sleep.

I now know that there is nothing beyond the wind,
except my dreams.”

Leave a Reply

